Islamic Art :: Book Review

Posted on Updated on


A distinguish importance has been attributed with this book that really differentiate it with rest of its peers on the shelfs; This book is a gift from LAFZ media for my first article in their online magazine; Considering my keen interest in muslim history, especially in Mugal architecture, the editor of LAFZ, Mr. Yasser Chaudhary chose this book for me and let me say honestly, it really really content my thrust in various ways;  I’m really grateful to LAFZ media;

The title was enough to tell the whole story. The table of content make my curiosity 2x, and finally, the diversity of content around a single theme made this research so valuable piece of work on this topic; I just have covered two chapters and its not letting me  make a bookmark to read later on;

Written by Nuzhat Kazmi, this invaluable book looks at the artistic output of the Islamic civilisation from the time of its inception to its interpretations in the contemporary world. Various photographs support their relevant topics and sections, hence making this script a complete source of reference for any reader on this topic;

Islamic Art, The Past and Moderen covers the different aspects of islamic arts under following heads

  • The Art of Painting
  • The Art of Calligraphy
  • The Art of Carpet and Textile Weaving
  • Decorative Islamic Art: Pottery, Ceramics, Glass and Metal
  • The Art of Architecture
  • Islamic Art and the Modern World
  • Major Dynasties

Seems the last page flip will not take too much long; I’m totally indulge in this book;

WHICH BOOK YOU ARE READING NOW A DAYS?

free counters

4 thoughts on “Islamic Art :: Book Review

    zainab said:
    September 27, 2011 at 14:42

    book Cover – Colors of Islamic Art..:) – very eye catching
    well i have no interest in history but the way u introduce n discuss now i hv to start reading such stuff…..:)

      Ans responded:
      September 27, 2011 at 17:04

      sure, I have many books on this topic .. you can borrowed form me;

    zainab said:
    September 28, 2011 at 12:49

    let me finished the previous 1,,,,,,,

    […] 16.Oct.2k11: A book was added to my library named The Islamic Art, The Past and Moderen. This book is a gift from LAFZ media for my first article in their online magazine; Considering […]

Leave a Reply

